Pishing email to HSBC Bank Customers

Howdy All,

This morning I received a pishing email claimed as from HSBC but I know it is not from them as I never use my company’s email for any personal matters. As usual, I just have a check on the actual URL from the URL given by looking at it source. I share with you the content of the email that I received below. PLEASE DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK GIVEN BELOW!!!

Dear HSBC bank customer,

We would like to inform you that we are currently carrying out scheduled maintenance.
In order to guarantee the high level of security to our business customers, we require you to complete “Business Internet Banking Form”.
Please complete BIB Form using the link below:

http://business.hsbc.com/system_directory/isa/file.aspx?session=49230617355387080224840852072630111989207537

Please do not respond to this e-mail.

Looking at the content it seems nothing wrong but wait, please look at the actual message when you view the source. The source will show you the actual URL set for the link given.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN”>
<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content=”text/html; charset=iso-8859-1″>
<META content=”MSHTML 6.00.2800.1141″ name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY>
<P><FONT face=”Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, san-serif”>Dear HSBC bank
customer,</FONT></P>
<P><FONT face=”Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, san-serif”>We would like to inform you
that we are currently carrying out scheduled maintenance.<BR>In order to
guarantee the high level of security to our business customers, we require you
to complete “Business Internet Banking Form”.<BR>Please complete BIB Form using
the link below: </FONT></P>
<P><FONT face=”Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, san-serif”><A
href=”http://business.hsbc.com.nuifjje.es/system_directory/isa/file.aspx?session=49230617355387080224840852072630111989207537″>http://business.hsbc.com/system_directory/isa/file.aspx?session=49230617355387080224840852072630111989207537</A></FONT></P>
<P><FONT face=”Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, san-serif”>Please do not respond to
this e-mail.<BR></FONT></P> 

Please look carefully at the full URL beginning from <A href=> tagging. It shows that the actual domain is not hsbc.com but instead nuifjje.es and of course, it is not a valid domain for HSBC. So it is definite not a valid email from HSBC but just a pishing email trying to steal HSBC customers’ personal information. Sometimes, it is an attempt to get you infected with some viruses, worms or trojan.

Tags:

Leave a Reply