Email that trying to steal your Gmail login information

This morning, when I login to one of my Gmail accounts (yes, I have more than one Gmail account as I love the service very much), I saw and email with the sender name shown as Gmail Team and the subject is “IMPORTANT NOTICE“. Huh! What the hack is that? OK, here is the content of the email:

Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have access and use of your Google account and to ensure a safe Gmail experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.

To confirm your account records click here : Account Management

After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account.Please note that if you don’t verify your ownership of account in 3 x 24 hours we will block/susspend your Google account.
Thank you,

The Gmail Team 

OK, first I tried to look at the link given and it shows this URL: http://www.uk-google.com/account/ I wonder, why the domain name started with “uk-” before the word “google”. The next thing, I have a check on the detail and here is the result:

from         Gmail Team < mail-noreply@google.com> 
to             baguznet.com@gmail.com  
date         Sep 19, 2007 3:02 AM  
subject     IMPORTANT NOTICE  
mailed-by  viola.tpa.kgix.ne

Can you see what’s going wrong? Yes, the “mailed-by” suppose to show “google.com” and not that one. This indirectly shows that this is a pishing email, claimed to be from Gmail Team. This is just one of the way people is trying to steal our login information.

So, when you received this email, please delete it immediately and if you received similar email as this, please have a check to verify it before you do what they asked you to do. Don’t forget to report to Google about the pishing email. Let them know and they will take further action on that.

Have a nice day ;-)

One Response to “Email that trying to steal your Gmail login information”

  1. baguznet says:

    Another version that I just received:

    subject Security Alert
    mailed-by crater.myserverhosts.com

    Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have acces and use of your Google account and to ensure a safe Gmail experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.
    This is the right link for edit account page
    After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account. Please note that if you don’t verify your ownership of account in 2 x 24 hours we will block/ susspend your Google account.

    Thanks,

    The Gmail Team

    *****
    Different subject, mail server and slight change on wordings for the link to click but still pointing to the same URL. It is sent to the same email, my public email account.

Leave a Reply